Arslanagića bridge in Trebinje is one of the most valuable architectural monuments in Bosnia and Herzegovina. It is an object of exceptional cultural, historical and artistic value.
It is also very specific due to the fact that its present location is not the same as the location where it was initially built; it has been moved many years ago in order to protect it from destruction. It used to be the bridge that linked Central Bosnia and Novi (present day Herceg Novi, back then part of Bosnia within the Ottoman Empire), and it saw almost all of the trade activity in the region, particularly salt trade. In 1687 Venetians occupied Novi, which resulted in the withdrawal of the wealthy Muslim population towards Trebinje and the bridge lost its significance. Another factor that diminished its importance is the construction of roads leading to Dubrovnik.
Built in the 16th century, it is part of Mehmed-paša Sokolović (the Great Vizier) heritage. It is thought that the bridge was built in 1573/1574. In actual fact, an inn (han) was built prior to the construction of that bridge on the Trebišnjica. The purpose of the inn was to house the construction workers working on the bridge. The documents held by the Commission for Conservation of National Monuments in Bosnia and Herzegovina indicate that the bridge was most probably named after Arslan-aga, who moved from Herceg Novi to Trebinje at the end of the 17th century. There used to be a guard post on the bridge, built by Arslan-aga. It had a passage with a massive door on ground level and guards’ quarters on the upper level. The guard post was knocked down during the reparation works in 1890. Arslanagića bridge in Trebinje is 92.25 metres long, and its width is 3.60 metres, extending up to four metres in certain places.
Trebišnjica riverbed is bridged by a massive stone construction with two large and five smaller arches, and three river pillars. Large arches are 15 metres above the normal water level. Sides are bordered by balustrades made of stone plates (korakluk). The distinctive configuration of pillars and openings gives Arslanagića bridge its distinguishable appearance. In 1965, when the hydroelectric dam was built, the bridge was submerged. It was rebuilt in 1972 in the centre of Trebinje.